This event has ended. View the official site or create your own event → Check it out
This event has ended. Create your own
View analytic
Thursday, August 14 • 14:30 - 16:30
Wide Band Gap III

Sign up or log in to save this to your schedule and see who's attending!

Click here to view Abstracts


Oral: Alex Dolgonos
Optoelectronic Properties of the Tetragonal-Phase n-type Transparent Conductor in the Gallium-Indium-Tin-Oxide System
Co-authos: Kanber Lam, Kenneth Poeppelmeier, Arthur Freeman, Thomas Mason

Oral: Laszlo Frazer
Photon/Exciton-Polariton Scattering Cross Section in Cuprous Oxide
Co-authors: Kelvin Chang, Kenneth Poeppelmeier, John Ketterson

Invited: Jörg Weber
Hydrogen Induced Defect Reactions in ZnO
Co-authors: N/A

Hydrogen is an amphoteric impurity in most semiconductors which compensates the electrical activity of dopants. In contrast, atomic hydrogen in ZnO is a shallow donor, which is one of the reasons of the inadvertent n-type conductivity of ZnO samples. We will report on the identification of hydrogen induced shallow effective-mass like donors. In agreement with theory, we identify hydrogen at the bond center position along the c-axis and at the center of the oxygen vacancy. Due to the fast diffusion of hydrogen in ZnO several other hydrogen related defects are formed. A dominant, yet elusive defect is the hydrogen molecule H2, a freely rotating molecule on interstitial sites in the lattice. We will discuss the formation of this neutral defect and its interaction with the lattice. New results on the ortho-para H2 conversion rate will be discussed. The behavior of H in ZnO is contrasted with the properties of this impurity in other semiconductors.

Oral: Leonard Brillson
Native Point Defect Energies, Densities, & Electrostatic Repulsion Across MgZnO Alloys
Co-authors: James Perkins, Meredith Meyer, Jean Michel Chauveau, Andrés Redondo-Cubero, Adrian Hierro, Wolfgang Windl



Oral: Kentaro Kaneko
Room Temperature Ferromagnetism in Alpha-(Ga,Fe)2O3 Semiconductor
Co-authors: Shigenori Ueda, Shizuo Fujita

Oral: Rüdiger Schmidt-Grund
NIR-VUV Dielectric Function of (In,Ga)2O3 Thin Films 
Co-authors: Hannes Krauß, Tammo Böntgen, Christian Kranert, Holger von Wenckstern, Jörg Lenzner, Marius Grundmann 

Session Chairs

K. J. Chang

Korea Advanced Institute of Science & Technology


Jörg Weber

Professor & Chair of Semiconductor Physics, TU Dresden
Prof. Jörg Weber is Chair of Semiconductor Physics at TU Dresden since December 1999. He is engaged in the study of impurities and defects in various semiconductors. His present area of specialization is the study of hydrogen in various hosts and its importance in device technology. | | Prof. Jörg Weber was dean and vice rector, coeditor of several special issues of "Applied Physics", and chaired and co-chaired several meeting... Read More →

Thursday August 14, 2014 14:30 - 16:30
Room 17B

Attendees (9)